T.W. Frierson was founded in 1958 by Mr. Ted Frierson who ran a small, well respected, contracting business until retirement in 1971. At that time, Mr. Ernest Taylor and Mr. Jim Nolen purchased the business from Mr. Frierson and ran it as an equal partnership until 1973. Ernest’s friend, Winston Hickman, joined the growing company, beginning a three-way partnership that lasted until Mr. Nolan’s retirement in 1985.
Coinciding with our 50th Anniversary, Ernest and Winston owned the company together before selling to each of their sons, Dean Taylor and Del Hickman in 2008. Recognizing the tremendous benefits of employee ownership, Dean and Del began the process of selling TWF to its employees in 2016. Since then, we have transitioned from a 2nd generation family owned business to a 100% employee owned business. Our employee ownership structure drives our team to succeed, and nurtures a unique culture through encouragement, empowerment, and investment in our people.